Skip to content ↓

The Bourne Education Trust

The Bourne Education Trust is a Surrey-based multi-academy trust made up of twelve schools, Auriol Junior School, Brookwood Primary School, Chertsey High School, Epsom and Ewell High School, Jubilee High School, Meadow Primary School, Pyrcroft Grange Primary School, Sayes Court Primary School, Sythwood Primary School, The Matthew Arnold School, West Ewell Primary & Nursery School  and Everest Community Academy.

Chertsey High School is a new free school that the trust opened in September 2017. This is being undertaken in partnership with Salesian School.

The trust specialises in supporting schools to improve their performance and draws on the experience of all schools in the trust. Epsom and Ewell High School has been working with Jubilee High School since March 2012 although Jubilee High School only formally joined the trust on the 1st September 2013. Epsom and Ewell High School and Sythwood School have been working with Pyrcroft Grange Primary School since July 2013 and Sayes Court Primary School since October 2013. Pyrcroft formally joined the trust on the 1st December 2013, Sayes Court on the 1st June 2014, Brookwood Primary School on the 1st November 2015 and Auriol Junior School on 1st May 2017. More recently the trust has started working with The Everest Community Academy from September 2017.

The trust’s main areas of expertise are as follows:

  • Increasing leadership capacity and rebuilding confidence

  • Setting the strategic priorities for the school and creating an aspirational culture

  • Supporting the current leadership team in implementing change and holding staff to account

  • Refining the school’s data tracking systems so that intervention is targeted, appropriate and makes a difference

  • Improving the quality of teaching through school-to-school support, paired observations, bespoke training and the use of outstanding practitioners

  • Increasing the skills of teaching assistants so that in-class provision and small group work supports progress

  • Improving the dialogue between teachers and teaching assistants

  • Challenging underperformance

  • Ensuring that no child slips through the net

The trust is led by Alex Russell and he is supported by all the other head teachers in the trust. Overseeing the work of the trust is its strategic board. This is made up of 10 directors and 5 members. The chair is Sara Lipscombe.

The board meets termly and all schools in the trust are held to account for their performance against pre-agreed key performance indicators. The philosophies that underpin the trust are those based on partnership and collaboration. We want to ensure that all children receive a first class education and that the professionals working in our schools are well equipped to deliver this. We believe that the best way to achieve this is by working together in an open and honest culture, where no stone is left unturned in our quest to deliver an outstanding provision to the children across the trust.

 Chair of the Board      

                            Sara Lipscombe

 Chief Executive Officer 

                            Alex Russell

 Director of Finance and Operations     

                            Kate Sanders

 Chair of Audit and Finance  Committee            

                            Chris Marston

 Chair of Performance and Standards Committee 

                            Chris Munro

 Clerk to the Board

                            Roger Evans


For further information on the Bourne Education Trust, please visit


As the Trust expands, we aim to have our schools grouped together in clusters of around five academies. These clusters are arranged according to both strategic and geographical areas. Clusters provide strategic partnerships to facilitate and deliver our core purpose of ensuring outstanding outcomes for pupils and students.


Core functions of Clusters

  • To provide consistency of expectation, resourcing and a vehicle for quality assurance across the Trust.

  • To provide a school led accountability and improvement system - to empower school leaders to drive change and improvement right into the heart of the schools within the Trust rather than a top down approach.

  • To deliver and provide rigor to the Trust’s development plan and assist in the delivery of the plan to improve outcomes for children.

  • To empower middle leaders and help promote and develop networks to enable school leaders to work in unison, and to deepen the Trust’s talent pool.

  • To facilitate peer to peer coaching support for staff. 

  • To facilitate the building of effective partnerships with parents, carers, communities, businesses and other stakeholders.


Intended Impact

  • The schools within a cluster will have a collective ambition to support and challenge each other, ensuring a consistent drive to improve and add value to pupil outcomes.

  • A fast, fluid, flexible, and highly skilled, staffing structure is developed across the Trust.

  • The cluster facilitates the sharing of data, excellent practice and consistently challenges practitioners to deliver one of the Trust’s key principles: to be transparent, generous, supportive and honest in how we work with each other.


Cluster structure

The Trust has initially established three clusters – Epsom, Chertsey / Addlestone / Staines (‘CAS’) and Woking. In the future, we will build a new cluster in Hampshire to include Everest Community Academy. The schools are currently grouped as follows:





Auriol Junior School

Epsom and Ewell High School

Meadow Primary School

West Ewell Primary School

Chertsey High School

Jubilee High School

Pyrcroft Grange Primary School

Sayes Court Primary School

The Matthew Arnold School

Brookwood Primary School

Sythwood Primary School


The executive leaders for the clusters are Gayle Jenkins and Steve Price.

Bourne Education Trust's Register of Interest